Volunteer

Menu

FAQs about IYAB

What kinds of things does IYAB get to do?

IYAB serves as a sounding board for new ideas out of YVCHQ and throughout the YVC Network. Each month our meeting has a different focus, and we spend about an hour discussing all kinds of aspects of YVC programming and ensure that we have youth voice incorporated in all of it. We’ll talk about everything from how to use social media to market YVC, the best recruitment strategies, how to expand YVC to new communities, the best fundraiser events for youth to lead and more. Depending on the topic, a YVC Headquarters staff or board representative will help guide the discussion. In addition to a monthly meeting, members also make decisions about YVC Day, promotional materials and get the unique opportunity to review the YVC Youth Grant and select a winner as a board. If you’d like to go even deeper, we’ll have opportunities for members to step up in between meetings for extra projects like helping plan the Summit, writing letters to potential new YVC communities, creating a fundraising toolkit for youth, writing posts for YVC’s blog and more.

Will IYAB meet in person?

The only opportunity for an in-person meeting will be at the YVC Summit, so we strongly encourage all IYAB members to attend the meeting. All other IYAB meetings will take place remotely on a conference call.

How long is an IYAB term?

The current IYAB term lasts from August 2018 through May 2019, with the option to reapply for future terms.

When are the meetings?

Meetings will take place the second Sunday of each month at 7 p.m. Central Time (8 p.m. East Coast, 6 p.m. Mountain Time, 5 p.m. West Coast) using Zoom, a video conferencing service.

What happens if I miss a meeting?

We know that to achieve all the awesome things that IYAB is capable of, we need the whole team on board. Members are permitted three absences throughout the year as long as they notify the advisor of their absence in advance. Missing a call without notifying the IYAB advisor in advance will result in a warning, with the second offense resulting in removal from the board.

Can more than one Youth Volunteer from my YVC apply for IYAB?

Of course! We want IYAB to represent as many YVC programs as possible, but we encourage any interested youth to apply.

More questions? Contact Sagan Hundley at shundley@yvc.org or (816) 265-1363.

Youth Volunteer Corps, 1025 Jefferson St., Kansas City, MO 64105

©2018 Youth Volunteer Corps